Life. Art. Midnight Snacks.



Never In A Million Years.

It is absolutely amazing how quickly things can change.  It seems like just as you think you know where life is taking you- nope! Tricked again. I guess the saying is right… “make plans and god will laugh in your face”…yup…sounds about right!

Well it just occurred to me the other day just how crazy it is that I have actually been doing this whole photography thing. What started out as just “for fun” has become the love of my life! And the fact that people are actually willing pay me to take their pictures is even more crazy!!! Never in a million years.

On top of all of this, my husband Chris has been slowly transforming before my eyes as well. I’m not even sure he knows it! Lets put it this way…when we started dating (5 years ago next week!) our meals together consisted of hamburger helper, taco bell, and pizza. Yeah he would have the occasional “healthy” salad with chicken, bacon, and extra creamy ranch of course….but for the most part he claimed that there was no reason to eat anything more healthy than he had to.  Well considering he is dating someone in the health and fitness field currently (my other love!) this became quite the battle over the years.  Don’t get me wrong….I have a deep love with all food in general…this includes mac n cheese, mexican, pizza, fried chicken..etc…but I at least make the attempt to keep the balance! Basically this turned into me sneaking in veggies into his lunch bag, switching out whole wheat for white, and coming up with healthy versions of his favorite hoping he didn’t notice. Well it was quite the battle….for a very long time he would just roll his eyes and cringe at whatever “crazy healthy concoction” I was coming up with at the moment. “There goes granola eating Astrid again….”

And then…slowly it happened.

He started buying whole wheat pasta….without me begging….

He actually was willing to try out those “weird” vegetables he had never dared of trying…(butternut squash, spinach, eggplants…crazy I know)

He actually OFFERED to make healthy versions of our favorite foods….and even eats tomatoes now, 2% milk instead of whole, among other things…

and he even was willing to try eating organic (though still not convinced of the “tree hugging ways” he says….at least he tried!)

But it wasn’t until this morning when I realized just how much Chris’ lifestyle has changed as well.

This morning, I was given a smoothie for breakfast.

Made of spinach.

That is correct. Spinach. Don’t tell his friends.

Yes, it had rasberry and mango in it as well….but for anyone that knows Chris and his Taco Bell days….this is huge. 

This all occured to me the other day when I was going through all my images and came across this one. It is just SO telling of just how much things have changed.  One year ago, doing photography would have been just a silly fantasy that I thought about at my boring old government office job. And one year ago I was still trying to convince Chris that 7-11 taquitos don’t count as “healthy carbs” 

Photography has become such a part of my life that I can’t even remember what life was like without it! I mean…what did I do with all my time?

I also have slowly (kind of) backed off from force feeding vegetables into my husbands throat every chance I got…kinda…. 🙂

“I will not let you die of Taco Bell!!”  is no longer part of my my daily routine. haha okay I never really said that… but you get the idea.

And so I look at this picture which was taken during a recent engagement session. Chris agreed that he would help me out with my camera gear because I wanted to be able to move around freely during the beach session. He played “assistant” and I played “photographer. Of course,  I turn around to ask him for one of my lenses, and instead of standing there paying attention to the session, I turn around and this is what I find. I couldn’t help but laugh. There is Chris…with a camera bag…. playing “assistant”….with his hands in the candy jar. CAUGHT YOU!

Ok, so I guess some things really will never change.

IMG_0685

IMG_0683

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Kristi says:

    That is awesome! Here is to health and following dreams 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
    • * awoltering says:

      Thanks Kristi!!! I can’t wait to see what’s to come- I am about ready to make the road trip to Atlanta! I will keep you posted 🙂

      | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago
  2. * Chris says:

    Hey…whats wrong with Taco Bell!!!? It is only the greatest, most authentic mexican food experience in all of the world…oh wait…you mean it isn’t? Oh well, it still tastes pretty damn good at 1 in the morning!

    | Reply Posted 8 years, 5 months ago


Leave a Reply

