Life. Art. Midnight Snacks.


« Rainbow | Home | Hi You!!! »

The First Year.

Well, we officially made it.  The first year of marriage. On September 6, 2008 we got married at the First Colony Inn in the Outer Banks and after a year or learning even more about each other, what we love and what we wonder how we can live with….we celebrated our 1 year anniversary this past weekend! We celebrated in Baltimore and it. was. awesome.

Wedding planning was so much fun and a crazy year of projects, planning, and budgets. What I love the most, is when I think back to how involved all of our friends and family were in the planning.  And of course, our wedding comes and sure enough…it was the exact same day as Hurricane Hannah hit. People ask me all the time if I panicked…and the truth is… nope! I figured if Chris and I had to get married in the rain then we were getting married in the rain! (I was also thinking those would make for awesome pictures) I think I was kind of just oblivious to the seriousness of the hurricane. Well if I remember correctly, the hurricane showed up overnight, and was cleared out by about 10am the morning of the wedding. Because of the hurricane though, all of the setting up of the reception was seriously delayed- we were WAY behind schedule. So what to do?? Our family and friends came to the rescue!!! 

This is not an exaggeration. Our guests set up their own wedding reception. I mean ALL of it! Once the tent was set, we had everyone in there setting up centerpieces, stringing lights, table numbers, putting up our wedding arch….everything!!! And it’s actually one of my top 10 favorite wedding memories. All my friends and family coming together to make our wedding happen. Driving down in the middle of a hurricane warning and then setting up and decorating everything themselves. It was a crazy day, but I loved every single moment of it. By the time that the ceremony started, our friends and bridal party were VERY well acquainted to our family- and that just made for an even better party! Everyone bonded over the chaos of “making this wedding happen”

Top Favorite Wedding Memories.

1. Walking down the aisle with my dad to “Somewhere Over the Rainbow”

2. We tapped the “wedding keg”….before the wedding.  Oops 🙂 No worries- the groomsmen made a big keg run through Brew Threw the next morning! My mom and dad didn’t even notice it was missing! 

3. Waking up at 3 in the morning the night of the wedding….and my cousin is passed out on the back deck…ON the keg, with his sunglasses on, corona in hand, and reggae music playing. I won’t disclose any names.

4. The random guy who was sleeping on our back deck with a Bud in his hand. No idea who he was.  I was told that our friends “picked up” a random guy on the beach and brought him back to the after party to play guitar for everyone…hahaha what???

5. Finding random sandals and flip flops ON TOP of our reception tent the next morning. I don’t ask questions. I think it had something to do with the Beer Pong tournament that occurred.

6- Getting ready with my mom and all my friends- and instead of having sandwiches and tea beforehand…we had cheese fries, nachos, buffalo wings, and mozzerella sticks….it wasn’t the most “wedding” thing to do but it was EXACTLY what I wanted! (thanks Meg and Josh for coming to the rescue many times that day!)

7- Of course- our guests who set up their own ceremony and reception! 

8- We were supposed to write letters to the minister  about “why we wanted to marry the other” Well of course we procrastinated and so we ended up writing them last minute, the morning of the wedding. We thought he was going to use this letter to “get to know us better”  Low and behold, during the ceremony he pulled them out and read them verbatim. Looking back, it’s probably good I didn’t know he was going to do that- if I did I probably wouldn’t have written the whole how I love when Chris “dances in his underwear part”  (yes…he read this in front of everybody.) Or how I rambled on about how I hate our couch….regardless it was honest and now we have them both framed. Funny because Chris’ copy is written on old grid paper that he had  (it actually has a “Comments” section at the bottom) and my letter is written on the crappy hotel paper! But I think they represent the last minute letters perfectly!

9- Bridal party kicking off the dancing to Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin”. Every time I hear that song I think about our wedding.

10. Waking up at 3am and breaking into one of my bridesmaid’s rooms to steal all the leftovers. You know the whole “brides never eat at their own weddidng thing? Or eat the cake?”  Well, not only did I eat my plate of food….but I also ate Chris’ plate….and then snuck into Cary’s room to steal and eat the leftovers at 3 in the morning….yummmyyyy….(on and I definitely ate my cake too 🙂 )

11. Speaking of food, serving mini grilled cheese at the reception.

12. Taking a walk with Chris on the beach to just take it all in…

 

So here are a few pictures to share that just shows you how involved everyone was…and also some pictures of the whole wedding year process. A huge THANK YOU to all of our friends and family who made this special day happen. It was so much better than I ever imagined 🙂 

 

my dad helping make my Save The Dates. this is my favorite picture of my dad it just makes me laugh! 

DSCI0617

ring shopping with Chris

DSCI0685

 

this is our living room the night before making the road trip to North Carolina for the wedding. that’s a lot of arts and crafts!

DSCI0714

 

wedding U-Haul!!! we had so much stuff we had to rent one!

DSCI0735

making my centerpieces and bridesmaid bouquets- look how pretty those pink roses are! i love love love them.

DSCI0737

skies are finally clear enough to set up the tent!

DSCI0741

you can’t look at this picture and not laugh. i love our friends 🙂

DSCI0756

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * Suz says:

    Congratulations!! Can’t wait to meet the lucky MR. 😉

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago
  2. * awoltering says:

    thank you!! we should have a get together with all the boys too someday! 🙂

    | Reply Posted 8 years ago


Leave a Reply

